Today, PDP Governors, NWC, BoT, and Others Will Protest Tinubu’s Win

Governors who are members of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the National Working Committee (NWC), Board of Trustees (BoT), National Executive Committee (NEC) and supporters of the leading opposition party have resolved to stage a peaceful protest over the outcome of the February 25, presidential and National Assembly elections. The protest is to be led by the party’s National Chairman, Dr Iyorchia Ayu, to the headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Abuja today. The PDP had called for the cancellation of the elections, alleging irregularities, but INEC announced the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, as the winner of the presidential poll. Candidate of the PDP, Atiku Abubakar, who came second according to the results announced by INEC, is however challenging the outcome of the poll in court. According to an invitation for the protest signed by the Director of Administration on behalf of the Director General of the PDP Presidential Campaign Organisation and Sokoto State Governor, Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, former senate presidents, David Mark and Bukola Saraki; People Living With Disabilities (PLWDs), campaign council members and the vice presidential candidate of the party, Ifeanyi Okowa, will be part of the protest.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.