May 29: PIC Sends Peter Obi Invite To Tinubu’s Inauguration As Nigeria’s President

The All Progressives Congress’ Bola Tinubu will be sworn in as president of Nigeria on May 29, 2023, and the Presidential Inaugural Committee has invited Peter Obi to the ceremony.

Obi of the Labour Party, who finished third in the February 25 presidential election behind Tinubu and Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party, had his invitation letter spotted by Netarana on Tuesday.

The Independent National Electoral Commission said that Obi received 6,101,533, Atiku received 6,984,520, and Tinubu received 8,794,726 votes.

The All Progressives Congress’ Bola Tinubu will be sworn in as president of Nigeria on May 29, 2023, and the Presidential Inaugural Committee has invited Peter Obi to the ceremony.

On the invitation, which also warns attendees to “Handle with care,” it was noted that Obi was given Seat No. 101 for the event on May 29.

The invitation reads, “On Monday, May 23rd, two thousand and twenty-three, the Presidential Inaugural Committee is honored to announce the inauguration of Bola A. Tinubu as President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Kashim Shettima M. as Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.”

In the meantime, Tinubu’s victory in the election was contested in a petition submitted in March by Obi and the Labour Party to the presidential election tribunal. Advertisement

Obi requests in his appeal that the tribunal order INEC to present him with a certificate of return designating him as the legitimately elected President of Nigeria rather than Tinubu.

The INEC, Tinubu, Shettima, and the APC are named as respondents.

Obi informed the tribunal, via his attorney Livy Ozoukwu, that Tinubu “was not duly elected by majority of the lawful votes cast at the time of the election” and that he was unable to run for office.

That it be determined that Tinubu, the second respondent, did not have the right to be declared the winner of the presidential election held on February 25, 2023 because he did not receive one-quarter of the votes cast in Abuja, the federal capital territory.

“That it be determined that the 1st petitioner satisfied the constitutional requirements to be declared the winner of the 25th February 2023 Presidential election on the basis of the remaining votes (after discountenancing the votes credited to the 2nd respondent) and scored a majority of the lawful votes cast at the election and had not less than 25% of the votes cast in each of at least 2/3 of the states of the federation, and the federal capital territory, Abuja.”

The petitioners (Obi and LP) requested that the tribunal declare the election invalid and order INEC to hold a new election in which Tinubu, Shettima, and the APC will not run.

It was exclusively revealed by SaharaReporters on Thursday that Tinubu had informed the Presidential Inaugural Committee of the addition of 13 new members.

Tinubu named Mr. Abubakar Kyari, a former senator for Borno North and the current National Deputy Chairman (North) of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), as the Coordinator and Director of Finance and Budget of the Committee in a letter to Mr. Boss Mustapha, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, which SaharaReporters obtained.

Hon. Stella Okotete, Executive Director (Business Development) at the Nigeria Export-Import (NEXIM) Bank, will oversee the secretariat, planning, and monitoring, and Mr. Makinde Araoye, a former APC candidate for governor of Ekiti State, will oversee the venue, parades, and swearing-in ceremonies for the week-long event.

While Dr. Betta Edu, the current National Women Leader of the governing All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Cross Rivers State Commissioner for Health, will oversee the medical team for the inauguration committee, Mr. Bayo Onanuga, the APC Presidential Campaign Spokesperson, will be in charge of media and publicity.

Col. Abdulazeez Yar’Adua, a retired military officer and the younger brother of the late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, will be in charge of the security and ceremonial parade for the inauguration, and Barr. Zainab Buba Marwa, the wife of Gen. Buba Marwa, the current director general of Nigeria’s drug law enforcement agency, will organize the pre-inauguration dinner and gala night for the committee.

Samira Saddik (Children’s Day), Abuh Andrew Abuh (Accommodation), Dr. Danladi Bako (Inaugural Lecture), Hajiya Hadiza Mohammed Kabir (Transportation and Logistics), Donald Wokoma (Protocol and Invitation), Bishop Adegbite (Church Service), and Imam Faud (Jumat Service) are additional members of the committee.

In order to be included as his representatives on the Transition Committee, President-elect Tinubu initially provided the names of Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State and the former Commissioner for Finance of Lagos State, Mr. Wale Edun, to Boss Mustapha.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.